Tourkenya Information Center



The shilling, denoted by KES, is the official currency of Kenya. Banknotes are issued in the following denominations: 50, 100, 200, 500, and 1000 Shillings; smaller values are issued as coins with 1 Shilling = 100 Cents. The current notes were issued in several series, starting in 1980. Notes of 10 and 20 Shillings are being replaced by coins. Some older notes are redeemable.